Main content

Latest Bomber TV

BTV: RD 10 | Zaharakis post-game

11:41am  May 27, 2018

BTV: RD 10 | Smith post-game

12:10am  May 27, 2018

RD 10 | Worsfold post-game

11:52pm  May 26, 2018

Watson the pick of the coaches

Staff Writers  September 5, 2013 8:50 PM

Essendon captain Jobe Watson’s season has been recognised by the coaches from right across the league after he finished the highest ranked Bomber in the AFL Coaches’ Association player of the year award.

Watson finished the season on 60 votes placing him 36 votes behind Collingwood midfielder Scott Pendlebury who took out the award.

Each coach casts five to one votes for the best player in each game with a player able to score a maximum score of 10.

The Bombers skipper has backed up a Brownlow Medal winning season in 2012 with another brilliant year in the midfield throughout 2013.

28-year-old Watson has averaged 27 possessions a game in 2013 and remains one of the Bombers most important players.

Youngster Dyson Heppell was the next best placed Bomber gathering 37 votes in front of recruit Brendon Goddard with 31 votes.

David Zaharakis finished with 30 votes just behind Goddard with Michael Hibberd rounding out the top five on 23 votes.

Find below the top ten Essendon vote getters in the AFL Coaches Association player of the year awards.

Essendon vote getters

Jobe Watson 60

Dyson Heppell 37

Brendon Goddard 31

David Zaharakis 30

Michael Hibberd 23

Jake Carlisle 18

Brent Stanton 16

Heath Hocking 14

Jake Melksham 14

Jason Winderlich 14