Main content

Latest Bomber TV

BTV: RD 10 | Zaharakis post-game

11:41am  May 27, 2018

BTV: RD 10 | Smith post-game

12:10am  May 27, 2018

RD 10 | Worsfold post-game

11:52pm  May 26, 2018

Crameri takes out third goal kicking award

Staff Writers  September 9, 2013 10:02 AM

BTV: Crameri kicks straight Essendon forward Stewart Crameri kicks six straight goals against Melbourne.

Essendon forward Stewart Crameri has won the club’s leading goal kicker award for the third straight season with 30 goals.

Crameri managed 30 goals from his 16 matches throughout 2013 despite a run of injury concerns late in the season.

The 25-year-old was down on his tally of previous seasons after booting 32 goals in 2012 and 34 in 2011.

Crameri’s largest haul for the year came against Melbourne in round two when he slotted six goals in the club’s record breaking 148 point win over the Demons.

A standout on the goal-kicking list this season was big man Tom Bellchambers who finished with a career high 28 majors for the season.

Bellchambers was the most improved Bomber in the goal kicking stakes with his previous best being ten goals in the 2012 season.

The 202cm big man provided an important target when he moved forward this season for the red and black showcasing his ability to take a strong overhead mark and kick straight.

His best performance came against Port Adelaide in round 15 when he kicked five goals and took ten marks in a dominant display as a power forward.

Michael Hurley once again was only able to show glimpses of what he could deliver for the Bombers forward line with an injury interrupted season limiting him to 16 matches and just 24 goals, two down on his 2012 tally of 26.

Hurley moved to the back line a number of times throughout the season restricting his ability to have an impact on the scoreboard.

The midfield brigade led by Goddard (18), Watson (16) and Melksham (16) continued to mount scoreboard pressure throughout the season but the Bombers forward line never quiet looked settled.

Crameri will be awarded the honour of leading goal licker at Crichton Medal night on Wednesday October 2nd.

2013 goal kicking list (min 15)

Stewart Crameri 30

Tom Bellchambers 28

Michael Hurley 24

Alwyn Davey 19

Brendon Goddard 18

Jason Winderlich 17

Jake Melksham 16

Jobe Watson 16