Main content

Boyse named in VFL Team of the Year

Essendon VFL’s Alex Boyse has been named as a half-forward in the VFL Team of the Year, at the JJ Liston Trophy on Monday night at Crown Palladium.

Boyse dominated in front of goal for the Bombers, booting 31 goals this season, finishing eighth in the VFL Frosty Miller medal count.

His best appearance came in the Dreamtime game against Richmond, where Boyse booted five goals.

VFL 2017 Team of the Year

Coach: Chris Newman (Box Hill Hawks)

Backs: Luke Tyan (Port), Sean Gregory (Cob), Marty Hore (Pies)

Half Backs: Brett Bewley (Will), Cam O'Shea (Blues), Damian Mascitti (Port)

Centres: Eli Templeton (Port), Matt Hanson (Werr), James Tsitas (Cats)

Half forwards: Bayley Fritsch (Casey), Alex Boyse (Ess), Michael Gibbons (Will)

Forwards: Ben Cavarra (Will), Jordan Lisle (Port), Dylan Conway (Port)

Rucks: Nick Meese (Will), Andrew Moore (Hawks), Willie Wheeler (Will)

Interchange: Jacob Ballard (Rich), Adam Marcon (Will), Nick Jamieson (Dogs)

Anthony Brolic (Hawks), Tom O'Sullivan (Port), Liam Hunt (Cob)