TelstraAFL Live Pass
Main content

Latest Bomber TV

BTV: Mid-season bests | Goals

8:00am  Jun 17, 2018

BTV: Mid-season bests | Marks

8:00am  Jun 16, 2018

BTV: VFL | Hep & DJ

12:13pm  Jun 15, 2018

BTV: Mid-season bests | Tackles

11:10am  Jun 15, 2018

Honours for young Dons

Simon Conway  September 12, 2017 9:07 PM

BTV: McGrath wins Rising Star Essendon's Andrew McGrath has won the NAB AFL Rising Star award.

Emerging Essendon players Andrew McGrath, Zach Merrett and Orazio Fantasia have been recognised for their outstanding seasons at the AFL Players’ Association MVP awards. 

McGrath was named the competition’s best first year player and, alongside Merrett and Fantasia, was also selected in the 22Under22 side that recognises the best young players in the game.

Merrett was also named Vice-Captain of that side.

Players across the competition voted on the best first year player award and McGrath’s accolade comes after he also won the AFL’s Rising Star award.

Merrett was named in the All Australian team for the first time this season after winning the Club’s Best and Fairest last year.

Fantasia booted 39 goals this season from his 20 matches.

Best First Year player voting

Andrew McGrath – 274 votes

Sam Powell-Pepper – 250 votes

Sam Petrevski-Seton – 48 votes

Will Hayward – 35 votes

Tom Stewart – 25 votes

2017 22Under22 team

B: Andrew McGrath, Harris Andrews, Callum Mills

HB: Jayden Hunt, Jake Lever, Ryan Burton

C: Josh Kelly, Clayton Oliver, Marcus Bontempelli

HF: Jack Billings, Charlie Curnow, Jack Martin

F: Orazio Fantasia, Eric Hipwood, Tom Papley

R: Peter Wright, Zach Merrett, Matt Crouch

Inter: James Sicily (Def), Isaac Heeney (Mid), Ollie Wines (Mid), Daniel Rioli (Fwd)

Captain: Marcus Bontempelli

Vice-captain: Zach Merrett