Main content

Inaugural AFLX squad

Essendon have announced an exciting squad for their inaugural AFLX competition, showcasing a mix of youth and experienced players.

David Zaharakis will captain the squad of 17 on Friday night with young stars Darcy Parish and 2017 Rising Star winner, Andrew McGrath featuring in the squad.

New recruit Adam Saad and draftee Matt Guelfi will be don the sash for the first time on Friday night, giving Essendon fans a glimpse of what they can expect to see in the 2018 Premiership Season.

Fans will be treated to a fast-paced brand of football, with speedsters Adam Saad, Conor McKenna, Anthony McDonald-Tipungwuti and Josh Green all named in the squad.

Essendon’s first game will be against rivals Hawthorn at 7.08pm followed by St Kilda at 8.04pm.

AFLX Squad

  1. Andrew McGrath, 3. Darcy Parish, 4. Kyle Langford, 8. Marty Gleeson, 11. David Zaharakis (c), 15. Josh Green, 16. Josh Begley, 20. Jackson Merrett, 27. Mason Redman, 29. Patrick Ambrose, 35. Matt Guelfi, 41. Ben McNiece, 42. Adam Saad, 43. Anthony McDonald-Tipungwuti, 44. Shaun McKernan, 45. Conor McKenna, 49. Matt Dea 


Friday 16th February, Etihad Stadium

6.40pm – Carlton v Melbourne
7.08pm – Hawthorn v Essendon
7.36pm – North Melbourne v Carlton
8.04pm – Essendon v St Kilda
8.32pm – Melbourne v North Melbourne
9.00pm – St Kilda v Hawthorn
9.33pm – Grand Final