TelstraAFL Live Pass
Main content

Latest Bomber TV

BTV: Crichton Contenders | Smith

6:00am  Sep 22, 2018

BTV: Brown signs on

2:00pm  Sep 20, 2018

Bullas named in Team of the Year

Callum O'Connor  September 11, 2018 10:40 AM

BTV: Hayley Bullas Interview We caught up with VFLW midfielder, and tackling machine, Hayley Bullas.

Midfielder Hayley Bullas has become the first Essendon player to achieve the honour of VFL Women’s Team of the Year selection at the Lambert-Pearce Medal on Monday night.

The 22-year-old was named in the forward pocket after a year in which her tackling (a competition-high average of 10.5 a game) swept all before her.

After travelling to The Hangar with a season at former VFL Women’s side Diamond Creek under her belt, Bullas was named in the leadership group before round one and played all 14 games for the Bombers in 2018.

Williamstown’s Jess Duffin polled highest in the vote that was known for the first time as the Lambert-Pearce Medal in recognition of women’s football pioneers Helen Lambert and Daisy Pearce.

Bullas’ fellow midfielder Courtney Ugle was the most prolific Bomber in the count, polling eight votes, while goal-kicking small forward Valerie Moreau was second best for Essendon with five.

Essendon’s Lambert-Pearce Medal votes:
Courtney Ugle – 8
Valerie Moreau – 5
Monique De Matteo – 3
Irena Malliaras – 1
Lauren Morecroft – 1
Lisa Williams – 1
Tash Hardy – 1
Simone Nalder – 1
Tait Mackrill – 1