Main content

1893 Premiership

October 17, 2017 9:55 AM


Players only Third row: George Watson, Charlie Forbes, Bill Parsons, Alick Dick (capt) William ’Pos’ Watson, Arthur Clarke, Bill Stuckey, Second row: Bill Christian, Alex ‘Joker’ Hall, Albert Chadwick, George Stuckey, Ern Grecian, Gus Kearney, George Vautin Front: Charlie Finlay, Michael Kearney, Tommy Anderson, Alf Young, A. Peers, Tom Prentice, Albert Thurgood

Not content with setting a goalkicking record in his debut season, Thurgood kicked 64 goals in 1893, again topping the Association’s goalkicking list and helping the club to its second successive premiership.

The team was unbeaten all year winning 18 games and drawing two.

Other champions included George Vautin, George Stuckey, who later captained the club to its 1897 premiership, and Gus Kearney.