Main content

1924 Premiership

October 12, 2017 1:17 PM


Essendon won the premiership despite losing its last game to Richmond.

The VFL introduced a round robin system for the top four teams at the end of the season, very similar to that used in 1897.

It proved unpopular with supporters who stayed away in droves and it was never repeated.

Moreover the system was set up so that the minor premiers, Essendon, were able to claim the flag despite losing their final game to Richmond.

Had Essendon finished second they would have the right to challenge the top team in the grand final, but this wasn’t needed.

George Shorten was equal runner-up in the inaugural Brownlow medal.

Essendon 8.10 (58) def Fitzroy 2.16 (18) MCG, Attendance: 44,522

Essendon 10.12 (72) def South Melbourne 4.15 (39) MCG, Attendance: 35,407

Richmond 9.13 (67) def Essendon 6.11 (47) Princes Park, Attendance: 15,503


F. Baring, S. Barker, N. Beckton, C. Donaldson, C. Farrell, T. Fitzmaurice, J. Garden, H. Gregory, C. Hardy, H. Hunter, T. Jenkins, R. Laing, F. Maher, C. May, J. McCarthy, G. Rawle, G. Shorten, G. Stockdale, J. Sullivan, R. Watt.

Coach: S. Barker


Best and Fairest: Tom Fitzmaurice

Leading goalkicker: Tom Jenkins (50)