Main content

1984 Premiership

October 5, 2017 2:01 PM


Essendon's 1984 Grand Final win snapped a 19 year premiership drought.

The 1984 win was sweet revenge for the record grand final loss Essendon suffered against Hawthorn the year before.

This year Essendon trailed Hawthorn until the last quarter when a nine-goal final term gave the team a 24-point win.

It was coach Kevin Sheedy’s first premiership in charge and it broke a 19-year premiership drought, Essendon’s longest.

Billy Duckworth won the Norm Smith Medal, the first Essendon player to do so.

Essendon 2.4  3.11  5.15  14.21 (105)

Hawthorn 6.1  8.6  10.8  12.9 (81)

Best: Duckworth, Watson, Harvey, Hawker, Heard, Baker

Goals: Baker 4, Duckworth 2, Watson 2, T. Daniher, Bradbury, Thompson, Merrett, Weston, Neagle

Norm Smith Medal: Billy Duckworth


B: Garry Foulds, Billy Duckworth, Paul Weston

HB: Peter Bradbury, Kevin Walsh, Glenn Hawker

C: Merv Neagle, Leon Baker, Shane Heard

HF: Tim Watson, Terry Daniher, Paul Vander Haar

F: Alan Ezard, Simon Madden, Frank Dunell

R: Roger Merrett, Neil Clarke, Darren Williams

I: Mark Harvey, Mark Thompson

Coach: Kevin Sheedy

Captain Terry Daniher

Average Age: 25

Average Games: 90


Best and Fairest: Simon Madden

Leading Goalkicker: Paul Salmon (63)

Team of the Year: Terry Daniher (Captain), Simon Madden, Kevin Sheedy (Coach)