Main content

Crichton Medal winner: Joe Daniher

BTV: Crichton Medal | Joe Daniher Wins Some highlights of the 2017 Crichton Medal winner, Joe Daniher.

Essendon star Joe Daniher has capped a brilliant season by winning the Bombers Crichton Medal.

The key forward won with 451 votes ahead of Brendon Goddard (441 votes) and Dyson Heppell (440 votes).

The voting system involves the six AFL coaches rating each players performance between 0-5.  The maximum votes a player can gain from one game is 30.  All matches, including finals, count towards the voting.

“Joe’s dedication and commitment to continuous improvement makes him a deserving winner of the Crichton Medal,” Essendon Coach John Worsfold said.

“He has consistently demonstrated the professionalism and resilience required to perform at the elite level. He has worked hard on his craft and developed a routine which stood up over the course of the season.

“Joe is an extremely talented footballer, he has a tremendous work ethic, shows genuine leadership and is a highly respected member of our playing group.”

Daniher kicked a career-best 65 goals. That is 22 more than he booted in 2016 and the most prolific season by an Essendon player in front of goal since Scott Lucas kicked 67 in 2006.

His haul included at least one goal in all 23 matches (he has missed just two games in the last four years) and he kicked three goals or more on 15 occasions.

He finished third in the competition’s leading goal kicker race with his tally all the more impressive given he spent time in the ruck each week. 

The 23 year old was named best on ground in both the ANZAC Day match and the Country Game. 

He also equalled his career-best haul of six goals in a starring performance against the Western Bulldogs. He pulled down 11 marks (eight inside 50) and had ten shots at goal in that match.

Daniher finished runner up in last year’s Crichton Medal and was named in the All Australian side earlier this month.

He signed a new three year contract with the Club in June.