Main content

Final JLT team revealed

BTV: JLT 2 | Squad Selection Senior Coach John Worsfold talks through the squad for our JLT 2 match.

Essendon has trimmed its extended squad and listed a near full-strength final team to face Geelong in its second JLT Community Series match in Colac on Sunday.

Several key Bombers will take the field for the first time in 2018 after missing the team’s AFLX tournament and opening JLT loss to Richmond.

The inclusions will inject plenty of experience in the side as Michael Hurley, Cale Hooker, Tom Bellchambers, David Myers and James Stewart don the sash at Central Reserve on the weekend. 

Speaking after selecting the initial extended squad on Thursday, Essendon coach John Worsfold said the match was a perfect opportunity to let the side’s three promising recruits – Devon Smith, Jake Stringer and Adam Saad – play for the first time with their senior teammates.

“It’s one game, but they get to play alongside each other, other than training and that will help,” Worsfold said.

“I was always keen to have the senior squad in certainly for at least one JLT game.”

As with all JLT matches a six-player interchange bench will be in effect, while six emergencies have also been named in case of any late withdrawals.

Worsfold said the players are looking forward to a challenging contest against the Cats ahead of another tough game against Adelaide in round one.

“It’s really great to get those hit-outs,” he said.

“If you want to be playing in the finals you have to be matching it with these teams and at least beating them regularly throughout the year.”

The match will be played at 1:05pm at Central Reserve in Colac and can be watched live on Fox Footy.


Starting 18

1. Andrew McGrath
2. Tom Bellchambers
5. Devon Smith
6. Joe Daniher
7. Zach Merrett
8. Martin Gleeson
9. Brendon Goddard
11. David Zaharakis
15. Josh Green
17. James Stewart
18. Michael Hurley
21. Dyson Heppell (C)
25. Jake Stringer
26. Cale Hooker
29. Patrick Ambrose
41. Ben McNiece
42. Adam Saad
43. Anthony McDonald-Tipungwuti

3. Darcy Parish
16. Josh Begley
23. David Myers
34. Jake Long
44. Shaun McKernan
45. Conor McKenna


12. Mark Baguley
20. Jackson Merrett
24. Jordan Houlahan
35. Matt Guelfi
37. Dylan Clarke
49. Matt Dea