Main content

Four Dons picked for AFLX

BTV: Sounds of the Track | Skipworth Midfield Performance Coach, Hayden Skipworth, was mic'd up during the team mid-week training session.

Four star Bombers have been drafted to take each other on in an exciting clash at the upcoming AFLX tournament on Friday, February 22.

Boom recruit Dylan Shiel, two-time All Australian Michael Hurley, dynamic forward Anthony McDonald-Tipungwuti and young gun Andrew McGrath will represent Essendon at the unique event, which will feature four teams in a newly designed format.

Shiel was the first Don to be selected at Wednesday evening’s inaugural draft when he was swept up by Team Bolts captain Patrick Dangerfield with the 31stselection.

But in a surprising turn of events, Shiel was then stolen by Team Rampage skipper Jack Riewoldt, who exercised his lone steal card to the claim the sought-after on-baller.


McGrath was a natural selection for Dangerfield as the dashing midfielder was claimed with the following selection, before McDonald-Tipungwuti made it an Essendon trifecta, selected by Crows veteran Eddie Betts with pick 33 to represent all-indigenous side, Team Deadly.

With a set limit of four players from any single AFL side, Hurley was the final Bomber selected to take part in the tournament when claimed soon after with the 39thoverall pick, landing at Docker Nat Fyfe’s Team Flyers.

The red and black quartet will take their place beside many of the league’s biggest stars and you can see each squad below.

Team Deadly

Eddie Betts (Adelaide)

Shaun Burgoyne (Hawthorn)

Bradley Hill (Fremantle)

Jarrod Harbrow (Gold Coast)

Tim Kelly (Geelong)

Chad Wingard (Hawthorn)

Travis Varcoe (Collingwood)

Steven May (Melbourne)

Lewis Jetta (West Coast)

Anthony McDonald-Tipungwuti (Essendon)

Joel Hamling (Fremantle)

Willie Rioli (West Coast)

Sam Powell-Pepper (Port Adelaide)

Cameron Ellis-Yolmen (Adelaide)


Team Rampage

Jack Riewoldt (Richmond)

Patrick Cripps (Carlton)

Lachie Whitfield (GWS)

Rory Sloane (Adelaide)

Phil Davis (GWS)

Dayne Zorko (Brisbane)

Isaac Smith (Hawthorn)

Luke Bruest (Hawthorn)

Easton Wood (Western Bulldogs)

Tom McDonald (Melbourne)

Dylan Shiel (Essendon)

Shaun Higgins (North Melbourne)

Tim Membrey (St Kilda)

Zac Fisher (Carlton)


Team Flyers

Nat Fyfe (Fremantle)

Marcus Bontempelli (Western Bulldogs)

Scott Pendlebury (Collingwood)

Alex Rance (Richmond)

Jeremy Cameron (GWS)

Isaac Heeney (Sydney)

Stephen Coniglio (GWS)

Rory Laird (Adelaide)

Travis Boak (Port Adelaide)

Lachie Hunter (Western Bulldogs)

Aliir Aliir (Sydney)

Michael Hurley (Essendon)

Josh Kennedy (Sydney)

Jack Higgins (Richmond)


Team Bolts

Patrick Dangerfield (Geelong)

Luke Hodge (Brisbane)

Steele Sidebottom (Collingwood)

Mark Blicavs (Geelong)

Robbie Gray (Port Adelaide)

Andrew Gaff (West Coast)

Luke Parker (Sydney)

Jaidyn Stephenson (Collingwood)

Andrew McGrath (Essendon)

Jack Billings (St Kilda)

Daniel Rich (Brisbane)

Robbie Tarrant (North Melbourne)

Jack Steele (St Kilda)