TelstraAFL Live Pass
Main content



Bachelor of Laws, Master of Arts

Lindsay joined the Board in 2015. He was MP for Melbourne in the Australian Parliament from 1993 to 2010 and Finance Minister from 2007 to 2010. Currently he works as a special advisor to Lazard, a financial advisory and asset management firm and is also a Board member for Virgin International Australia, VICT, Covata Ltd and chairs the Mitchell Institute for Health and Education Research. Lindsay was previously the Club’s number one ticket holder from 2009-2010. 




Bachelor of Economics (Hons), FCA, FAICD

Paul was appointed to the Board in October 2011 and is Vice-President and Finance Director of the Club. He also serves as Chairman of the Audit, Risk & Integrity Committee and is a member of the Nominations & Remuneration Committee. Paul was a Partner in the accounting and professional services firm PricewaterhouseCoopers from 1982 to 2009. He chaired the Australian firm and was Chairman of the global Board of PwC from 2005 to 2009. Paul is Chairman of Incitec Pivot Limited and a Director of Amcor Limited and a board member of Teach For Australia. He was previously Chairman of the Reach Foundation and a number of other philanthropic organisations and a Board member of the Victorian Arts Centre Trust. 




David was elected to the Board in December 2015. He has over 25 years’ experience in the AFL industry having established the AFL’s film and videotape library in the early 1990s. In 1996, David was the Executive Producer of “100 Years of Australian Football” for the Seven Network. For the following 10 years, David produced all of Ten’s AFL programs, including 8 AFL Grand Finals. From late 2010 until the end of 2015 David was Head of Sport for the Ten Network. He now is the Ten Network’s executive responsible for the Big Bash and the Australian F1 Grand Prix. 




Melissa joined the Board in December 2017.  She has over 26 years experience in the media/advertising industry and is currently Head of Melbourne Agency & Government at Facebook.  She’s also a member of their ANZ leadership team. Following a successful 20 year career in radio, she joined Fairfax Digital in 2010 as their State Sales Manager (VIC) then later becoming Agency Sales Director at Fairfax Media. She previously held a Victorian Board Member position at Starlight Children’s Foundation.




Sean was elected on the board in December 2017. He has been involved in the AFL industry for over 20 years as a coach (assistant) and player. He played 212 AFL games and was part of the clubs 2000 Premiership team and is a club life member. More recently he was a partner in the Waterside Group, who owned and operated hotels in Melbourne from 2004 to 2017. Sean currently runs his own Mortgage Broker business, Wellman Finance.




BA (Pol Stud), GDip Pub Admin, HonLLD (Monash), FAICD

Ken joined the Board in December 2015. He is a member of the Audit, Risk & Integrity and Nominations & Remuneration Committees and chairs the Gender Diversity Working Group. He was Chief Commissioner of Victoria Police from 2011 – 2015 in a career that spanned over 40 years with the force. In 2015, he was appointed as a founding member of the Council of Australian Governments Expert Advisory Panel on Family Violence as well as Chair of the Prime Minister’s National Ice Task Force. Ken is currently Chair of the Ambulance Victoria Board, a Director of the Alannah and Madeline Foundation, and a former Non-Executive Director of Dixon Hospitality Ltd. He was awarded an Officer of the Order of Australia in the 2017 Australia Day Awards for services to policing and the community. He was awarded a Doctor of Laws (Honoris Causa) by Monash University for his service to the community in 2015. Ken was previously the Club’s number one ticket holder in 2015. 


KATIE (Catherine) LIO



Katie Lio is the Chief Operating Officer at WORK180, where she is responsible for the operating processes across the business, driving product innovation & prioritisation, and general support of all departments. Katie has previously overseen the digital platform strategy and development at Sensis and led the launch of Apple Music in Australia at Telstra - the first ever service partnership with Apple globally. Katie was elected to the Board in 2014 and was recently appointed President of the Essendon VFLW program.



Diploma of Teaching, Grad Dip. Special Ed.

Simon was elected to the Board in 2013. He played 378 games for the Club and played in the 1984 and 1985 premiership teams. He is a Life Member of the Essendon Football Club, the AFL and the AFL Players' Association. He is also a member of the Essendon Hall of Fame and the AFL Hall of Fame. Originally a teacher, Simon has worked in business for 20 years. He runs his own business-coaching consultancy, "Simon Madden Consulting", specializing in "Sustainable High Performance". He has previously been the President and a Director of the AFL Players Association. 




Bachelor of Economics, Post Graduate Diploma of Financial Management, Advanced Management Program – Harvard Business School

Andrew joined the Board in 2015. He is Chair of the Nominations & Remuneration Committee. He is a successful business leader, thought leader and philanthropist with over 25 years of retail, leadership, strategic and management experience. He served as Executive Chairman of The Good Guys from 2005 to 2017 after being CEO of The Good Guys from 1993. Andrew is also co-founder of the national Best Friends Pet Supercentres chain, the founder of the digital timeline app Momatu, and the founder and director of The Good Foundation - a not-for-profit which promotes good health and nutrition, including being the sole licensee of Jamie’s Ministry of Food in Australia.