Main content

Back on top

BTV: Darcy gets Rising Star nod - April 5, 2016 Darcy Parish finds out that he has been nominated as the Round 2 NAB Rising Star.
Could Darcy Parish become the first Bomber since Dyson Heppell to win the NAB Rising Star?

Darcy Parish’s round 2 nomination for the NAB Rising Star award has brought the Club back to the top of the list for all-time nominations.

The 18-year-old became the 37th Bomber to receive a nomination for the award since it was introduced in 1993.

Parish earned the honour in just his second game.   

Che Cockatoo-Collins, David Zaharakis and Dyson Heppell who all received the nomination after their debut.

Parish’s performance on the weekend demonstrated exactly why he was so highly rated at the 2015 National Draft.

Taken by the Bombers with pick 5 the ex-Geelong Falcon starred against Melbourne collecting 21 disposals, laying a game high eight tackles and kicking his first goal in AFL.

Coach John Worsfold praised Parish following the Bombers’ first win of the season, and has been pleased by the enthuisasim and profeesionalism that the youngster has demonstrated so far. 

“Darcy’s first two games have been extremely pleasing,” Coach John Worsfold said.

“He really hunts the footy and he’s got a good knack of getting on the end of it and then he shows composure when he gets his hands on it.

“And when he gets on the outside, his ability to finish with a goal on the run is also pretty handy.”

Essendon now sit equal first with Melbourne with a total of 37 Rishing Star nominations each.

Dyson Heppell remains the only Essendon player to have ever received the award.

Essendon Rising Star Nominees:

James Hird

Dustin Fletcher

Mark Mercuri

Joe Misiti

Ricky Olarenshaw

Che Cockatoo-Collins

Scott Cummings

Ryan O’Connor

Matthew Lloyd

Blake Caracella

Jason Johnson

Dean Rioli

Dean Solomon

Mark Johnson

Adam Ramanauskas

Aaron Henneman

Danny Jacobs

Mark McVeigh

Ted Richards

Marc Bullen

Brent Stanton

Kepler Bradley

Jason Laycock

Patrick Ryder

Bachar Houli

Kyle Reimers

David Zaharakis

Tayte Pears

Michael Hurley

Jake Melksham

Michael Hurley

Dyson Heppell

Jake Carlisle

Zach Merrett

Joe Daniher

Orazio Fantasia

Darcy Parish