Main content

Dons in action on GF Day

Dustin Fletcher will line up in Fox Footy's Longest Kick competition. - Kyle Langford,Essendon,Essendon Bombers,Dustin Fletcher,James Hird
Dustin Fletcher will line up in Fox Footy's Longest Kick competition.

A young Essendon star and two Club champions will be in action on Grand Final Day.

Kyle Langford wil represent the Bombers in the traditional AFL Grand Final Sprint.

The event is raced over 100 metres, with AFL clubs nominating representatives from their playing list to compete.

The format of the sprint will remain the same as previous years with players split into two groups of nine for heats to be held prior to the match.

Players with the top nine times will then advance to the Grand Final Sprint, to be held at half-time of the AFL Grand Final.

Gatorade will be making a $5,000 donation to Ladder, an AFL player-led charity tackling youth homelessness, in honour of the winner.

Heat One:

Adelaide Crows - Jordan Gallucci

Brisbane Lions - Dayne Zorko

Western Bulldogs - Matt Suckling

Essendon - Kyle Langford

Geelong Cats - Mark O'Connor

Hawthorn - Harry Morrison

Melbourne - Jayden Hunt

St Kilda - Sam Gilbert

West Coast - Lewis Jetta

Heat Two:

Carlton - Jarrod Pickett

Collingwood - Will Hoskin-Elliott

Fremantle - Tommy Sheridan

Gold Coast Suns - Steven May

GWS Giants - Tim Taranto

North Melbourne - Josh Williams

Port Adelaide - Jarman Impey

Richmond - Connor Menadue

Sydney Swans - James Rose

Dustin Fletcher will compete in the Fox Footy Longest Kick competition.

The event begins at 10am and Fletcher will take on current players including Bryce Gibbs, Matt Suckling and Josh Kennedy, as well as former player Brendan Fevola.

Finally, Essendon champion James Hird will present the Norm Smith Medal after the Grand Final between Richmond and Adelaide.

Hird won the medal in 2000 when he led the Club to a 60 point Grand Final win over Melbourne.