Main content
NewestEssendonWebsiteHeader.png

2019 VFLW fixture released

Essendon's VFLW team will begin its 2019 campaign against Casey on May 11. (Photo: AFL Media)

Essendon has learned its fate for the 2019 VFL Women's competition, following today's fixture release.

The Bombers will open their second VFLW season when they host Casey on Saturday, May 11, in what marks the first of eight home games at Windy Hill.

Their season-opener will also coincidence with an Essendon VFL clash, with a total of seven double-headers.

A triple-header between the Bombers' and Tigers' AFL, VFL and VFLW sides will take place on Saturday, May 25, with the VFL and VFLW teams squaring off at Punt Road Oval as a prelude to the annual Dreamtime at the 'G match.

For the second consecutive season, Essendon's VFLW side will travel to Darwin to face NT Thunder, while an exhibition match against Greater Western Sydney's AFLW side is scheduled for round 10 at Windy Hill.

The 2019 VFLW competition will again see 13 teams competing over 16 rounds followed by a four-week finals series, with two byes for each club throughout the home-and-away season.

There will be an expanded finals series with a top six, while the Grand Final will be broadcast on Channel 7 before the VFL men’s season decider.

Essendon's 2019 VFLW fixture:

Round Date Opponent Venue Home/Away Local Time
1 Saturday, May 11, 2019 Casey Windy Hill Home 11:30am
2 Saturday, May 18, 2019 Geelong Central Reserve, Colac Away 12:00pm
3 Saturday, May 25, 2019 Richmond Punt Road Oval Away 12:00pm
4 Saturday, June 1, 2019 Carlton Windy Hill Home 12:00pm
5 Bye
6 Saturday, June 15, 2019 Hawthorn Windy Hill Home 11:30am
7 Saturday, June 22, 2019 NT Thunder TIO Stadium Away 3:30pm
8 Sunday, June 30, 2019 Melbourne Uni Melbourne Uni Main Oval Away 2:30pm
9 Saturday, July 6, 2019 Collingwood Windy Hill Home 12:00pm
10 Saturday, July 13, 2019 GWS Windy Hill Home  3:00pm
11 Saturday, July 20, 2019 Darebin Windy Hill Home  12:00pm
12 Saturday, July 27, 2019 Williamstown Williamstown Football Ground Away 11:30am
13 Saturday, August 3, 2019 St Kilda Windy Hill Home 11:30am
14 Saturday, August 10, 2019 Western Bulldogs Whitten Oval Away 4:00pm
15 Saturday, August 17, 2019 Collingwood Victoria Park Away 12:00pm
16 Saturday, August 24, 2019 Williamstown Windy Hill Home 12:00pm