The 2021 Charles Brownlow Medal Count will commence at 7:30pm AEST on Sunday, September 19, broadcast live on the Seven Network.

2021 marks the 94th year the Brownlow Medal will be awarded to the league’s fairest and best player with state-based venues across the country set to host players for the count, with events to be held at Optus Stadium and The Gabba, each hosting the 2021 Wolf Blass Brownlow Red Carpet.

The Wolf Blass Brownlow Red Carpet will be broadcast across the country on the Seven Network from 7.00pm AEST.

Invited players will attend the location closest to where they are currently residing, while players based in Victoria and New South Wales will tune in remotely from home. Invited players based in South Australia will travel to Western Australia to attend the Optus Stadium event. has taken a look at the Bombers' best hopes below.

Best Chance: Darcy Parish
It was a breakout season for the Essendon youngster, who flourished with more midfield time.

Parish won three major individual best on ground awards in 2021, scoring the Anzac Medal, Tom Wills Medal (Powercor Country Festival) and the Yiooken Award (Dreamtime in Perth).

05:04 Mins
Published on

Highlights | Darcy's dominant 2021

Watch the finest work of newly re-signed midfielder Darcy Parish from the 2021 season.

Published on

He's likely to poll a stack of votes, particularly through the middle of the year, and could emerge as a genuine top-three chance on the night.

Zach Merrett and Jake Stringer could pinch votes from him throughout the year.

One-Vote Wonder: Nick Hind (v Hawthorn, round 14)
The speedy defender could earn Brownlow votes for a prolific performance in Tasmania, where he won 25 disposals and kicked a goal in a victory over Hawthorn.

It would add to a tally of two career Brownlow votes.

01:16 Mins
Published on

Rd 14 | Hind's incredible effort

Nick Hind has completed a brilliant team end-to-end play with this electrifying running finish.

Published on Brownlow Predictor top three
26 Darcy Parish
20 Zach Merrett
12 Jake Stringer

Predicted total team votes: 79

2020 most votes: Zach Merrett (13 votes)

Ineligible: Nil

Previous winners: Dick Reynolds (1934, 1937, 1938), Bill Hutchison (1952, 1953), Graham Moss (1976), Gavin Wanganeen (1993), James Hird (1996)