Essendon fans will be able to stream the 2020 Crichton Medal from 8pm AEST on Sunday, as the club prepares to crown its newest best-and-fairest winner. 

Proudly presented by Yakult, the event will take place inside the Bombers’ hub on the Sunshine Coast and be streamed on the club’s website, app, Facebook and YouTube accounts.

The stream will be hosted by Julian De Stoop and Dustin Fletcher, and include speeches from the 2020 Crichton medallist, CEO Xavier Campbell, outgoing senior coach John Worsfold and President Lindsay Tanner, and tributes to the club’s retiring players and milestone men.

Below you can find an explanation of the Crichton Medal voting system and the awards being presented.


After each game of the 2020 season, each player is rated from zero to five by the six coaches, resulting in a minimum of zero votes and maximum of 30 per game.

At the end of the season, each player's games are tallied for the final score.

2019 Crichton medallist Zach Merrett. (Photo: Essendon FC)


Adam Ramanauskas Most Courageous Player 

Awarded to the player who puts others before himself and displays personal courage both on and off the field.

2019 winner: Patrick Ambrose

Lindsay Griffiths Rising Star

Awarded to the player under 21 and with less than 10 senior games prior to January 1 who receives the most votes in the Crichton Medal tally.

2019 winner: Dylan Clarke 

Matthew Lloyd Leading Goalkicker

 Awarded to the player who kicks the most goals in the home and away season.

2019 winner: Jake Stringer

Bruce Heymanson Best Clubman Award

Awarded to the player who best displays the club and team values, therefore having the greatest overall positive impact at the club during the year. The award is voted by football and club executives.

2019 winner: David Zaharakis 

Most Improved Player 

Awarded to the player who has demonstrated a commitment to excellence. He must have shown clear improvement from previous seasons and a willingness to go above and beyond.

2019 winner: Mason Redman

John Kilby Trainers & Staff Award

Awarded to the player who shows genuine care and respect to trainers and staff, while working towards common goals in line with the club and team values. The award is voted by a group of trainers, staff, the medical team and volunteers.

2019 winner: Dyson Heppell