Georgia Nanscawen has topped off being a Premiership co-captain with winning the VFLW Bombers’ best & fairest award for 2022.

In the side’s undefeated Premiership-winning season, Nanscawen claimed the award ahead of ruckman Simone Nalder and star defender Alex Morcom in a close count which saw a series of different leaders throughout the rounds.

After six rounds, Nanscawen wasn’t even in the top 10 vote getters, but a stunning run of form from there catapulted the 30-year-old into first place.

The individual honour caps off a year of extreme highs and lows for Nanscawen, who became the Bombers’ first ever AFLW signing ahead of their inaugural season.

But in the final quarter of the Dons’ emphatic Grand Final win, Nanscawen’s AFLW season dreams were crushed after succumbing to an ACL injury.

Nanscawen’s best & fairest award will hopefully provide a lift for the midfielder as she enters her rehabilitation program to return to playing.

In other awards, 2021 best & fairest Eloise Ashley-Cooper was awarded the Dons’ Best Finals Player award.

First-year forward Renee Tierney solidified her status as a player with a bright future after winning the Most Valuable Young Player award.

Winger Courtney Ugle earned Don of the Year as the players’ player, while Federica Frew claimed the Leading Goalkicker award with her 35 majors across the season.

Runner Andy Rowe was voted the Liberty Legend by the playing group for his tireless work all year, while defender Kendra Heil took home Best Clubwoman as voted by club staff.


1st – Georgia Nanscawen

2nd – Simone Nalder

3rd Alex Morcom


Best Clubwoman
Winner: Kendra Heil
Determined by: Trainers

Don of the Year
Winner: Courtney Ugle
Determined by: Players' votes
Prize: $500 + $500 to local club, thanks to Fujitsu

Best Finals Player
Winner: Eloise Ashley-Cooper
Determined by: Coaches
Prize: $500, thanks to Fujitsu

Leading Goalkicker
Winner: Federica Frew
Prize: $500 Amart voucher

Most Valuable Young Player
Winner: Renee Tierney
Determined by: Coaches
Prize: $500 Coles voucher

Liberty Legend
Winner: Andy Rowe
Determined by: Players' votes
Prize: $500 Red Balloon voucher