Essendon VFL has named a strong side ahead of this Saturday’s top-four clash with Footscray at Whitten Oval.

The VFL Dons will be without a number of senior players, including veteran on-baller David Myers, hard-working defender Ben McNiece and forwards Josh Begley and Mark Baguley, but will see the return of exciting speedster Irving Mosquito, following a hamstring injury he sustained in round 13.

Fellow AFL-listed Bombers Michael Hartley and Jordan Ridley also return to the line-up, both starting at half-back. 

Skipper Aaron Heppell joins them in the back six, while vice-captains Heath Hocking and Danny Younan will start in the centre and ruck rover respectively. 

Jacob Brown, Wilson Berry and Jake McQueen may also be recalled, having been named on the extended interchange bench. 

Ben Huggard has been selected as the 23rd man.

He replaces Tynan Smith, who will start in the forward pocket fresh after his four-goal performance last weekend.

A win would mean the VFL Dons get some breathing space on the ladder, currently sitting in second spot and just two points ahead of the Bulldogs in third. 

The final team will be selected before the first bounce at 1pm on Saturday, August 10. 

Live updates will be available via Essendon VFL’s Twitter, and the match will be broadcasted on



50. Josh Tynan

30. Brandon Zerk-Thatcher

59. Aaron Heppell (C)


14. Jordan Ridley

36. Michael Hartley

49. Matt Dea


33. Brayden Ham

77. Heath Hocking

34. Jake Long


68. Nick Dixon

32. Noah Gown

62. Nino Lazzaro


24. Jordan Houlahan

46. Tom Jok

72. Tynan Smith


74. Riley Bowman

39. Trent Mynott

55. Danny Younan


61. Wilson Berry

73. Daniel Guccione

76. Bruno Laguda


51. Jacob Brown

22. Irving Mosquito

56. Dylan Landt


60. Ben Fennell

79. Jake McQueen

23rd player

63. Ben Huggard