Essendon VFL will have one more chance at advancing to a preliminary final when it meets Werribee on Sunday afternoon at Adcon Stadium.

Following its narrow two-point loss to Richmond in last Saturday’s qualifying final, the VFL Dons will be looking to put in a consistent four-quarter effort this weekend.

A win on Sunday would mean the Bombers end their four-game losing streak, which has included defeats at the hands of Richmond twice (12 points and two points), Footscray (94) and Geelong (41).

Werribee finished the home-and-away season in fifth place on the ladder, having been undefeated since round 15 against Richmond (17).

Last Sunday, the Tigers overcame Box Hill by 41 points in its elimination final.

The two sides haven’t met in a final since 2013, when Werribee knocked Essendon out of the finals series by 19 points.

The VFL Dons earned bragging rights this year in round 13 however, slotting two late goals to pinch the win in a close affair at Avalon Airport Oval.

Vice-captains Heath Hocking and Danny Younan, and young forward Jordan Houlahan bagged three each on the day, while Michael Hartley led the stats sheet with 23 disposals, five marks and two goals.

Essendon will welcome Jordan Ridley, Tom Jok and Dylan Clarke back to the line-up, while David Myers will play his 50th VFL game.

After announcing his retirement earlier in the week, Matt Dea will begin in the back pocket.

The winner of this semi-final will meet Williamstown on the weekend of September 14/15.

Essendon VFL will live-tweet the match from 2:10pm, and will also be televised live on Channel 7 and broadcasted on SEN 1116 and Casey Radio.

B: 49. M. Dea, 36. M. Hartley, 41. B. McNiece
HB: 46. T. Jok, 30. B. Zerk-Thatcher, 50. J. Tynan
C: 24. J.  Houlahan, 37. D.  Clarke, 14. J.  Ridley
HF: 70. L. Mckenna, 73. D. Guccione, 55. D. Younan
F: 75. K. Aylett, 16. J. Begley, 12. M. Baguley
R: 74. R. Bowman, 39. T. Mynott, 23. D. Myers
Int: 61. W. Berry, 68. N. Dixon, 59. A. Heppell, 77. H. Hocking, 76. B. Laguda, 34. J. Long, 65. E. Sibbald, 72. T. Smith
23P: 56. D. Landt

B: 18. R. Hebron, 26. D. Nielson, 21. L. Pinnuck
HB: 3. M. Sodomaco, 5. N. Coughlan, 30. M. Spencer
C: 9. J.  Clayton, 6. M.  Barlow, 22. B.  Malual
HF: 8. J. Henderson, 15. K. Declase, 10. J. Maishman
F: 37. J. Bennett, 14. T. House, 2. M. Munro
R: 31. A. Clarke, 29. D. Brew, 4. T. Gribble
Int: 17. M. Augerinos, 43. D. Bennett, 36. J. Berry, 33. A. Domic, 13. K. Gray, 11. M. Hanson, 46. R. Kemp, 7. D. McFarlane
23P: 32. J. Riccardi