In 2005, the Essendon Football Club joined the AFL, the Richmond Football Club and The Long Walk in recognising the work and contribution of Indigenous Australians.

The idea has now transformed into one of sport’s most anticipated encounters.

Here is the Dreamtime Timeline.


Richmond 14.8 (92) d Essendon 9.12 (66)

 Round 15, 2005 was the first Dreamtime clash at the MCG.

 Jason Johnson led the way for the Bombers collecting 30 disposals.  Matthew Lloyd was the most potent in front of goal booting four majors in Essendon’s 26-point loss.

Brent Stanton and Dustin Fletcher represented the Bombers that night and are the only players to have played for the club in every Dreamtime clash.


Richmond 13.17 (97) d Essendon 13.15 (95)

By the start of the 2006 season the Dreamtime clash was cemented in the AFL calendar.

This match attracted 58,439 fans with Richmond winning its second straight Dreamtime clash, this time, by a narrow two points.

Dean Polo was awarded the Yiooken Award with a stunning 28 disposals and three-goal performance.


Essendon 12.20 (92) d Richmond 12.12 (84)

In his last Dreamtime clash as Essendon coach, Kevin Sheedy, led his boys to a thrilling win.  

With less than 3 minutes remaining, scores were level after Adam McPhee kicked a vital goal.

Matthew Richardson looked to have kicked the winning goal for Richmond but play was called back when the umpire awarded a ‘hands in the back’ decision to Bomber defender Mal Michael.

The Yiooken Award was awarded to James Hird.


Richmond 16.14 (110) d Essendon 10.12 (72)                

After the last two meetings had been decided by less than a goal, 60,333 fans came out to support the two teams hoping for another Dreamtime thriller.

Richmond dominated the early stages, taking a 50-point lead into the major break.

The Bombers hit back with a six goals in the third term but with the Tiger midfield on top, Richmond came away with a comfortable 38-point victory.

Nathan Foley was awarded the Yiooken award with a 32 disposal performance.


Essendon 19.11 (125) d Richmond 12.13 (85)

Coming off a disappointing loss in 2008, this young Bomber side under coach Matthew Knights looked to seek some Dreamtime redemption.

The Tigers hit the score board early with multiple goals from Nathan Brown and Kane Pettifer giving them a handy break at half time.

Speedsters Alwyn Davey and Andrew Lovett had a big impact in the Bombers second half with their game-breaking speed through the midfield.   They kicked five goals between them.

David Zaharakis looked comfortable in his first year as a Bomber coming up with three important goals in the 40 point victory.

Jason Winderlich was awarded the Yiooken Award with a gallant 28 disposal and two-goal performance.


Essendon 19.16 (130) d Richmond 14.11 (95)

The sixth annual Dreamtime match was highlighted by a spectacular pre game performance but it was on the field that saw an exciting Bomber outfit down Richmond.

It was raining goals under the lights at the MCG when Essendon had seven individual goal kickers in the first term.

The Tigers were left speechless but with a six goal dominating performance from Tigers Jack Riewoldt at times the Bombers were on their toes.

 A stunning 28 disposal performance from newly appointed captain Jobe Watson and close to a career best three goal outing from David Hille helped the Bombers secure a comfortable 35 point victory.

David Hille was awarded the Yiooken award.


Richmond 16.9 (105) d Essendon 13.11 (89)

This Dreamtime fixture attracted 83,563 fans and it was an important game for the eighth placed Bombers as they looked to stay in touch with the leading teams.

A physical, fast contest saw 10 lead changes throughout the match.

The Bombers led by one point at half time but it was Jake King in the Richmond forward line that was causing problems.  He booted three goals.

Leroy Jetta also kicked three goals as he tried to keep the Bombers in it, but it was to no avail.

Trent Cotchin was awarded the Yiooken award. 


Essendon 19.14 (128) d Richmond 15.9 (109)

With both teams sitting just outside the top eight, this Dreamtime clash took on extra importance.

Less than a minute in Richmond had already hit the scoreboard, but it was the efforts of Essendon ruckman Patrick Ryder that grabbed led headlines in the first quarter.  He had three goals by the first break.

The Bombers extended their lead to more than 30 points at half time with Jobe Watson and Brent Stanton leading the way in the midfield and converting five important goals.

With veteran Dustin Fletcher subbed late into the third term, the Tigers were able to hit back on the scoreboard and take back the lead in the final term.

The Bombers didn’t panic and managed to secure goals from sub Nathan Lovett-Murray, Angus Monfries and small forward Alwyn Davey.

First year player Dyson Heppell gathered 29 disposals and looked right at home early in his career.

The Yiooken award was awarded to Brett Deledio.


Essendon 13.13.91 d Richmond 9.8.62

It was ‘Jobe’ well done with Essendon securing a comfortable Dreamtime win, with the Captain leading the way.

Watson gathered 28 disposals and kicked three goals.

Michael Hibberd was strong in the defensive end.  The up and coming defender collected 29 disposals.

The goals kept coming from the Bomber forwards were in good form with Stewart Crameri and David Zaharakis prominent.

The Yiooken award was awarded to Jobe Watson


Essendon 15.14.104 Def Richmond 7.12.54

The 10 year anniversary saw a crowd of 74,664 at the MCG and a lot of expectation with the two sides sitting seventh and eighth on the ladder.

The game started with a long range goal from Dustin Fletcher and from there the Bombers maintained control.

First year player Joe Daniher looked comfortable in the forward line while Ben Howlett kicked a career high five goals.

Cale Hooker was excellent on Jack Riewoldt on his way to his first selection in the All-Australian side.

The Bombers had a comfortable 50 point victory to help strengthen their position in the top eight.

The Yiooken award was awarded to Brendon Goddard.