The VFLW Bombers’ 2020 fixture has been released and will see the Dons kick off the year with a bang against Geelong at Windy Hill on Saturday, May 9.

The clash with the Cats will is one of eight VFL/W double-headers scheduled for the year and the first of two at the club’s spiritual home.

The Bombers’ annual Dreamtime Match against Richmond at the Swinburne Centre will again be among the season highlights, with the VFLW Dons kicking off proceedings at 11:15am on May 23 before the VFL Bombers take on the Tigers, followed by the senior side’s traditional Dreamtime at the ‘G clash.

The Bombers showed terrific improvement last year in what was just their second season, breaking through for five wins including a convincing victory over eventual premier Collingwood to close out the season.

The talented side will be forced to wait until the penultimate round for its next chance to take on the Magpies when they face the reigning premiers at Windy Hill on Saturday, August 15.

The Bombers were too sharp for the Magpies last year. (Photo: Ben Johnstone)

A run of five consecutive home games in Essendon from rounds four to nine will prove important for the Bombers as they look for further improvement in what should be another exciting year.

2020 VFLW FIXTURE

ROUND OPPONENT VENUE TIME & DATE
1* Geelong Windy Hill 3pm, Saturday, May 9
2* Southern Saints Trevor Barker Beach Oval 11:30am, Sunday, May 17
3* Richmond Swinburne Centre 11:15am, Saturday, May 23
4 Williamstown Windy Hill 11:30am, Saturday, May 30
5 BYE    
6 Darebin Windy Hill 11:30am, Saturday, June 13
7 Casey Demons Windy Hill 11:30am, Saturday, June 20
8* Western Bulldogs Windy Hill 3pm, Saturday, June 27
9* Hawthorn Windy Hill 11:30am, Saturday, July 4
10* Carlton Ikon Park 11:30am, Saturday, July 11
11 North Melbourne Arden Street Oval 11am, Sunday, July 19
12* Williamstown Downer Oval 11:30am, Sunday, July 26
13 Darebin Bill Lawry Oval 12pm, Saturday, August 1
14* Hawthorn Box Hill City Oval 11:30am, Sunday, August 9
15 Collingwood Windy Hill 11:30am, Saturday, August 15
16 BYE    


*Double-header with the VFL Bombers