How well do you know the Bombers' Brownlow Medal history?

Here are six facts to brush up your knowledge ahead of Sunday night's 2020 Brownlow Medal count.

1. Reynolds' record still standing

The late Dick Reynolds remains the youngest Brownlow medallist in history, saluting in 1934 at just 19 years and 90 days. The Essendon legend is one of only four players to have won three Brownlow medals, repeating the feat in 1937 and '38.

Three-time Brownlow medallist Dick Reynolds. (Photo: AFL Photos)

2. The record breakers of 2000 

Essendon's all-conquering 2000 premiership side holds the record for the most Brownlow votes by a team in a season (116). Geelong has come closest to breaking the record with 112 votes in 2008. Given this year's truncated season, it's safe to say the record will be safe for at least another year.

3. Hutchison leading the Bombers

Bill Hutchison leads Essendon's all-time Brownlow leaderboard on 172 votes ahead of Reynolds (154), Simon Madden (139) and James Hird (125). The former Bombers captain won two Brownlow medals (1952, '53) and featured in the club's '42, '46, '49 and '50 premiership sides.

4. Wanganeen the trailblazer

Gavin Wanganeen's 1993 Brownlow triumph saw him become the first Indigenous player to win the League's highest individual honour. At just 20, he was also the youngest winner since Fitzroy's Denis Ryan in 1936. Wanganeen is the only Bomber to have won a Brownlow and premiership in the same season.

1993 Brownlow medallist Gavin Wanganeen. (Photo: AFL Photos)

5. Captain's consecutive run

Former captain Jobe Watson holds Essendon's record for the most consecutive games polling votes (eight), which he achieved from rounds six to 14 in 2012. It's the equal-third best streak in history behind Patrick Dangerfield's 11 (2016-17) and Gary Ablett's nine (2009-10), but the equal highest in a single season.

6. Merrett makes his move

Should he poll 13 votes or more in the 2020 Brownlow Medal count, Zach Merrett will leapfrog former Bombers Dustin Fletcher, Hugh Torney, Terry Daniher, Brent Stanton, Dyson Heppell, Ron Andrews and John Birt into 12th position on the club's all-time votes leaderboard. Merrett is a proven vote-getter, sitting at 20th across the competition for percentage of games polling three votes at 7.91 per cent.