Star midfielder Georgia Nanscawen has been named Essendon’s 2019 VFLW Best and Fairest winner.               

Crowned with the top honour at the Natural History Public Bar on Thursday evening, Nanscawen finished the count on 197 votes ahead of runner-up Kendra Heil (190) and third-placed Shae Audley (189), capping off a outstanding debut season in the red and black for the former North Melbourne AFLW player.           

Nanscawen’s dominance on the field was evident from the beginning, touted as one of the most consistent midfield performers in the competition.      

Making her Essendon debut in the season opener against Casey, the 27-year-old played 13 matches with the Dons in 2019, averaging 17 disposals and seven tackles on her way to a position (centre) in the VFLW Team of the Year.         

Runner-up Heil trailed Nanscawen by just seven votes.

The gun defender’s ability to make effective decisions under pressure, as well as intercept opposition passes, have always been key features of her game style.     

Audley placed third overall in the count with 189 votes. Known for her skills and toughness, the former Carlton AFLW midfielder's experience was invaluable in her first season as a Bomber.

Murray Bushrangers product Eloise Ashley-Cooper was named the club's VFLW Rising Star for her impressive debut season.

There was no stopping the 19-year-old, who defied her tender years to establish herself in the starting line-up, featuring in 13 games.

Alex Quigley claimed the club’s Leading Goalkicker award to cap off a stellar season.  

The forward managed 10 goals over the season, with three goals being collected in the victory against Carlton at Windy Hill.    

Two additional accolades were also presented on the night, with Hayley Bullas receiving the Best Clubwoman award for her contributions both on and off the field.

Assistant coach Wayne Shultz accepted the Most Valuable Staff Member award for his dedication to upholding the club’s values throughout the season. 


Voting: After each game, every player is awarded a vote from 0-5 from each of the four Essendon VFLW coaches. The maximum votes a player can receive per game is 20.

1. Georgia Nanscawen (197 votes)

2. Kendra Heil (190)

3. Shae Audley (189)

4. Simone Nalder (186)

5. Maddy Collier (182)

6. Maighan Fogas (164)

7. Eloise Ashley-Cooper (153)

8. Lauren Ahrens (149)

9. Cecilia McIntosh (147)

9. Lori Stepnell (147)