Bombers young guns Jordan Ridley and Andrew McGrath have added more accolades to their stellar individual seasons by being included in the AFL Players’ Association’s 2020 22under22 team.

Already earmarked to be a future leader for the red and black, McGrath was overwhelmingly voted as the captain of the side and as a starting centre, in what is his fourth straight selection in the fan voted award. 

At 21 years of age, Ridley gained his first nomination and selection in the side as a back pocket, having been selected in 75.66% of all submitted teams.

The recognition caps off a terrific week for both players, with Ridley fresh off a historic Crichton Medal win and Most Improved Player award, while McGrath finished fifth in the best and fairest count and claimed the Adam Ramanauskas Most Courageous Player award.

03:20 Mins
Published on

Crichton Medal | Winner interview

We spoke to the winner of the 2020 Crichton Medal, Jordan Ridley.

Published on

Reflecting on his selection, McGrath said he was thrilled to be viewed as the stand-out leader amongst a group of talented and worthy players.

“To be recognised as captain is a proud moment as there are so many outstanding young leaders among this group,” McGrath told

“I can’t wait to see how they all develop both as people and players in the coming years.”

The 2020 side will be the final time McGrath is eligible for the under 22 award, while Ridley can be selected in next years’ side if nominated by the AFLPA.

Bombers fans can view the full 22under22 team here.