Star Bombers Jordan Ridley, Andrew McGrath and Zach Merrett have been nominated by their teammates for the 2020 AFL Players’ Association Most Valuable Player Award.

It's another feather in the cap for young guns Ridley and McGrath, who have made quantum leaps in 2020 to be in serious contention for a maiden Crichton Medal on Sunday.

Entering the season with just nine senior games to his game, Ridley has played every game to lead the Bombers for marks (106), contested marks (17), intercepts (88) and one percenters (85).

03:03 Mins
Published on

The rise of Jordan Ridley

Jordan Ridley's teammates talk about his stellar 2020 season.

Published on

While a syndesmosis injury in round 15 prematurely ended McGrath's season, the 22-year-old shone in his new role as a full-time midfielder, averaging 22 disposals, five tackles and five clearances.

03:13 Mins
Published on

Andy's rise

Young star Andy McGrath talks about his 2020 form, while his teammates provide an insight into his leadership and work ethic.

Published on

Merrett, who could claim his third Crichton Medal on Sunday, has produced another stellar season to sit sixth overall in the AFL Coaches' Association Champion Player of the Year Award as the Bombers' highest vote-getter.

Energetic small forward Ned Cahill and skipper Dyson Heppell have been nominated for the Best First-Year Player and Best Captain awards respectively, while Ridley is also in the running for Most Courageous.

The nomination for the Most Valuable Player Award is a two-stage process. The first involves players nominating three teammates for the award, before the three nominees from every club are presented to the wider playing group for a vote to decide the winner.

Players cannot vote for their own teammates in stage two of the process.

The Most Valuable Player Award will be announced on Thursday, October 24, while the remainder of honours will be confirmed on Tuesday, October 22.

Ridley and McGrath were also selected in the AFL Players’ Association 22Under 22 squad last week, with the final fan-voted side to be revealed on Tuesday.