This win marked the end of a golden run during which the club contested the Grand Final in eight years from 1941.

It was the last of Dick Reynolds’ four flags, with his first coming in 1942.

It was also the second flag shared by three of the club’s finest players - Dick Reynolds, John Coleman and Bill Hutchison.

Between them, these three men played 709 games, won 15 best and fairests, 10 premierships and five Brownlow medals.

Essendon   7.3  7.6  10.11  13.14 (92)
North Melbourne   4.0  5.5  7.9  7.12 (54)

Best: McDonald, D. Reynolds, May, McClure, Syme, Gardiner

Goals: Coleman 4, D. Reynolds 2, Syme 2, McEwin, Hutchison, Dale, Harper, Snell


B: L. Gardiner, B. Brittingham, W. May

HB: H. Lambert, R. McConnell, N. McDonald

C: C. Lambert, A. Dale, J. Collins

HF: J. Jones, B. Snell, B. Harper

F: D. Reynolds, J. Coleman, R. McEwin

R: B. McClure, B. Syme, B. Hutchison

I: E. Leehane, N. Allanson

Captain/coach: D. Reynolds

Average age: 26

Average games: 86


Best and fairest: Bill Hutchison

Leading goalkicker: John Coleman (120)