The 1984 win was sweet revenge for the record Grand Final loss Essendon suffered against Hawthorn the year before.

This time, Essendon trailed Hawthorn until the last quarter when a nine-goal final term gave the Bombers a famous 24-point win.

It was coach Kevin Sheedy’s first premiership in charge, breaking a 19-year premiership drought.

Billy Duckworth won the Norm Smith Medal - the first Essendon player to do so in history.

Essendon   2.4  3.11  5.15  14.21 (105)
Hawthorn   6.1  8.6  10.8  12.9 (81)

Best: Duckworth, Watson, Harvey, Hawker, Heard, Baker

Goals: Baker 4, Duckworth 2, Watson 2, T. Daniher, Bradbury, Thompson, Merrett, Weston, Neagle

Norm Smith Medal: Billy Duckworth

Merv Neagle and Simon Madden reminisce during the 20-year anniversary of the 1984 premiership.


B: Garry Foulds, Billy Duckworth, Paul Weston

HB: Peter Bradbury, Kevin Walsh, Glenn Hawker

C: Merv Neagle, Leon Baker, Shane Heard

HF: Tim Watson, Terry Daniher, Paul Vander Haar

F: Alan Ezard, Simon Madden, Frank Dunell

R: Roger Merrett, Neil Clarke, Darren Williams

I: Mark Harvey, Mark Thompson

Coach: Kevin Sheedy

Captain: Terry Daniher

Average age: 25

Average games: 90


Best and fairest: Simon Madden

Leading goalkicker: Paul Salmon (63)

Team of the year: Terry Daniher (captain), Simon Madden, Kevin Sheedy (coach)